More of this and some of that

Again Shapes, patterns and curiosity is captured by my trusty little camera.

I said in an earlier post I am not sure why shapes and patterns capture my eye, the very next day as I was engrossed in a delicious story ‘Watercolours’ by Adrienne Ferreira which is a story about a small boy who is an artist. He lives in a very small country town and for the first time visits Sydney and he is overwhelmed by the sights of the city.  He went to a museum where there was the skeleton of a whale, he sat and began drawing furiously. His friend comes and  sits next to him and asks to see what he has drawn. His friend immediately said “It looks like your father’s boat“.

The small boy took another look at his sketchpad; his friend is right, the boat and the whale are the same. In a flash he thinks of the patterns he saw from the airplane window. His statement was:

“I wonder whether everything starts out like this, no matter how big or small…just simple patterns…”

and that sums it up for me. I realised I like shapes and patterns because they  represent life itself.

These photos are just an eclectic piece of life.

One Response to “More of this and some of that”

  1. WOW! This is your beautiful and creative eyes… dear Rosemary. I loved these patterns and shapes… with a camera, in a photograph they become a nice image… This is the art of photography. You did great set. And they make me much more excited about photography… you know there is an old saying (I am sure in every culture) to look and to see… you are the one who see the details or what we can’t notice and see… Thank you for sharing with us,
    with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

