Just arrived back from Peak Hill, New South Wales. A sleepy town with a large history. The history concerns the gold mine.

The historic mine operated between 1893 and 1917 producing about 60,000 ounces from 500,000 tonnes of rock. Alkane excavated for gold on the site between 1996 and 2002 retrieving 145,000 ounces from 4.9 million tonnes.

It is a self guided tour set in natural surroundings and is lovely to walk around.

My Brother and Sister-in-law ran the deli there for many years. My brother passed away four years ago but I still go back to visit my Sister-in-law. I am so lucky as we are like real sisters.

It is a twelve hour trip from door to door. I leave home at 6am and make my way to my local train station to our main city station ‘Southern Cross’. From there I have coffee (naturally) and wait for the XPT train that runs from Melbourne to Sydney. Recliner seat, buffet with hot meals and snacks. I settle back with books, laptop, pillow for a nap. We call it a Nana nap, its that saying worldwide?

I finally get to the border which is Cootamundra which is famous for its magnificent wattle. John Williamson wrote a song about it, I love it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AN_AqUK_3LM  You can hear it here.

and these are the words

http://www.johnwilliamson.com.au/music/cootamundra_wattle.html

It is very Australian…so…I arrive at Cootamundra at approx 3.30pm although this time one of the staff on board the train took ill so we had to wait at a small town for an ambulance to come from a larger town, so we were running an hour late. Luckily the coach I need to take is connected to the railways so they are obliged to wait.

On board the coach for three hours to Peak Hill. I agree with the coach service having the rule of no food or drink (other than water) to be consumed on board, but three hours and I need a nibble so I sneak a mint here and there. We pass so many cherry farms (in season now) and they are so cheap compared to the city; I gaze at them through the window and wish we could stop.

At about 6.30pm I arrive at my Sister-in-law’s house to a lovely welcome with friends dropping in all the time for a chat, and those of us that do arts and crafts huddle for ages swapping and sharing stories.

2 Responses to “”

  1. WOW! This is so interesting and I enjoyed so much. I can’t believe I was almost with you as if… from your door to your sister-in-law’s door… This is amazing. Thank you dear Rosemary, Peak Hill should be a nice town… the song accompanied to my journey too. And I prayed for your brother, dear Rosemary, Rest In Peace. The relationship between your sister-in-law and you so admirable. I am so glad you had a nice time there. Have a nice weekend, with my love, nia

Leave a Reply

